the back story…

Way back in late 2009, I decided to do my first-ever half-ironman triathlon. For those of you new to the tri world (as I very much was), the half-ironman (aka long course, aka 70.3) is a 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike and 13.1 mile run for a grand total of one 70.3 mile-long event. I’m still not exactly sure what came over me. It just popped into my head one day. Since I’d started running in college, I’d done countless 5K, 5 milers, 10Ks and half marathons. And I swam competitively in high school. I guess I was looking for a new challege? I distinctly remember thinking to myself (and rationalizing to my husband, “Well, I know I can swim the distance and I know I can run the distance. And heck, ANYONE can ride a bike…”). And the rest is history.

I started with a couple of sprint distance tris and threw in an Olympic distance tri for good measure. In August of 2010, I completed the Calgary 70.3.  Two months later, in October 2010, I ran my 1st full marathon in the pouring rain. Two weeks after that, I flew to Denver to run with my mom as she completed her first half marathon (yes, it was crazy and very painful, yes I shoulda given myself time to recover and no, I do not intend to do that again! And yes, people do MUCH crazier things, but by my standards, this was NUTS!). Let’s face it, I was tired. Mentally, physically, emotionally. Toast. The very next day, I retired to the couch, determined not to train again until I damn well felt like it.

Fast forward to today. Spring 2012.

My husband, Jason, indeed quite the athlete himself, has been pondering races for the year, did not do Calgary with me (instead stood beside me as I trained, ever the wonderful, devoted and stalwart supporter) and decided to take on the 70.3 this year. I will be training alongside him and we are both registered for a local 70.3 in early August.

The “official” day 1 of training is fast approaching. In reality, we have both been preparing for a while. He has been learning to swim (not something that comes naturally to him) and I have been remembering what its like to like to run again.

This will simply be a tool to share my stories, reflections, recipes (!), inspiration and motivation (and often, my lack thereof), (mis)adventures in training, and, perhaps more realistically, balancing the eat- sleep – WORK- swim- bike- run- repeat sequence that will become my life in less than 2 weeks.

I hope you’ll enjoy the journey. Heck, I hope I do too.

Leave a Reply

