adventures in forgetting…

Day 1 turned in to a two-workout day.  Here’s how it all went down:

First up was the swim on my lunch hour, and I forgot my towel. Nice.  You’re probably thinking to yourself – Who does that?! And now you know: Me. Brilliant move. (And no, I didn’t have a shammy either…). Doesn’t necessary affect the swim itself, but certainly throws a little wrench into the post-swim process drying off process, which is pretty necessary in order to return to work, which I did have to do.

The training plan called for 1500 for the day. The swim workout I did is as follows:

–         Warm up (600): 3x (50 Back, 50 Breast, 50 Free, 50 Fly) with :20 rest

–         Main set (1200): 3×400 with :15 rest

–         Cool Down (400): 4×100 Kick with :10 rest

Total: 2200 yards

After a looooong day at work and feeling good about the yards I put in at lunch, I headed home after work. Well. That’s not entirely true. Since it is the first day of spring and I live in the Inland Northwest, it was snowing / hailing / raining / gusting 40 mph winds all day. Outside on a bike was not sounding so great so I stopped at the gym to try to get my 2nd workout out of the way, only to realize that I didn’t bring the right clothes to jump on a bike (only running shorts, which drive me crazy on the bike… always catching on seat and riding up and generally being obnoxious. And no padding).

So I went home, figuring I’d change at home and head back out to the gym from there… which, if you know me (and I think I do), you know that it may have been slightly delusional of me to think I’d want to leave the house again. Once I was home, I got comfy. And warm. Read a little. And I settled. Oh, and I ate. Not only did I eat, but I ate a leftover slice of pizza from Capone’s. And a handful (or maybe 2 or 3) of salt and vinegar chips – a(n addicting) rarity in our house that I treated myself to over the weekend while my hubby was out of town…but I digress.

No surprise, when it came time to head back out, it was a bit of a shock to the system, which had by then settled quite nicely into relaxation mode. I must say that I’m quite pleased with myself that I even made it out of the house and that I completed the 40 minutes on the bike. I quickly remembered how difficult it is to push through a spinning workout ALONE. And I quickly realized that I had put on running capris (no butt-pads…what?!).

Now, I don’t know what it is about spinning, but I sweat like you would not believe when I’m on a spinning bike. Really. I had never really felt the “sweating bullets” phrase until I jumped on a spin bike. And then I got it, and redefined it. What’s bigger than bullets? Sweating bombshells? That’s what I do. And to top it off, on this particular occasion, I was sweating chlorine (a side effect of spending the lunch hour in the pool), and certainly sweating sea salt and vinegar to boot! (A word to the wise- maybe not a good pre-workout snack if you don’t feel like sweating vinegar.) And again, I forgot my TOWEL. Here again, not a deal breaker, but perhaps a better option than using my shirt. Maybe next time. Sigh.

All’s well that ends well.  The thing is, today’s examples are not the only examples I have of the goofy things I forget. If I had a dollar for every time I forgot my socks and had to buy them at the gym or on my way to the trailhead, I could probably afford to buy another pair of socks, maybe a 3-pack even.  And I’ve been known to forget my sports bra, which in some cases has also meant a less-than-ideal sports bra purchase at the gym (if that’s where I discover I’ve forgotten it and if they sell them), or on a couple of occasions, cancelling the workout altogether. Obviously, I forget towels somewhat frequently.

photo found here

So my lesson for the day?: Pack ahead of time. Planning ahead is key (at least for me). If you’re always running late and in a rush in the morning (like I am), for your own sanity’s sake, pack your gym bag the night before.  And even better, plan to forget. Then it won’t be such a big deal when you do. Keep a spare set of gym clothes in the car, in a gym locker or at your office. Because, let’s face it, I have so many (totally lame) excuses already lined up that forgetting a towel, socks, a sports bra or whatever can easily be the icing on the cake that makes me decide to just go home. And eat cake!

2 thoughts on “adventures in forgetting…

  1. I’d say reading that makes me feel good when I forget my name 😉 Great job of getting out after that pizza-chip endulgence..I would’ve been a lifeless fixture on the couch.

Leave a Reply

