week 4 (recovery)

Day What I was SUPPOSED to do What I actually did
Monday REST. And I maybe should have – I was tired from the previous day’s brick: 1 hour / 20 minute brick. Ran 40 min. It was 65 and sunny and I couldn’t pass up the bluebird day! So. A handful of sweaty lunchtime miles in the sunshine were just what the doctor ordered.
Tuesday Bike (1 hr) Skipped lunch – had to write a speech for my boss who at a big event in DC. Worked straight through the day… came home RAVENOUS and scarfed a bowl of homemade chicken parmesan. And then hopped on my bike an hour+ later for a quick 1 hour sunset bike ride.
Wednesday Swim (1300) / Run (40 mins) Strength training; 20 minute run packed into lunch.
Thursday Bike (1 hr) Another long day at work and I felt tired. I was able to squeeze a 35 minute run in between presentations and meetings.
Friday Swim (1600) / Run (40 mins) Caught a late afternoon pooltime and found one of my most favorite things in the world waiting for me – a laneline-less pool, completely empty and completely still. Quiet. Such a beautiful thing in my mind. So peaceful, so serene. Just lovely.

What a pool snob I am!

Warm up: 400
2×300 w/:30 rest (50 kick / 100 swim)
3×200 w/:20 rest
3×150 w/:20 R (50 free / 50 choice / 50 free)
4×100 swim w/:15R
100 cool down
(2600)

Workout courtesy of NTC Masters Swim, Coach Sara McClarty.

Saturday Bike (1:30) Well… if I’m being completely honest, I haven’t spent ALL of the time on the bike that I should have to date. So we looked back and last week’s long bike was 2 hours. That’s what we did.

Caught some rain around 1:15 that threatened to derail us, hubby had some challenges with bike fit and a shifter that just about broke in the last 10 miles, but we managed 32 miles for the day. That last 10 were all in one gear… haha. Might’ve been able to squeeze a few more miles if not for that.

Needless to say, his bike’s headed to the bike shop this week.

Sunday Swim (1700) / Brick (1hr /20 min) Had a volleyball game today (90 mins); then met up with a friend for brunch / lunch. Made the (ahem) smart decision to get the French toast and bacon… nice and light, eh?

Headed to Fleet Feet in search of new running shoes (and let my stomach rest), then made out for about 50/15. Found some perfectly wonderful rain / hail and a marvelous headwind on the far side of the lake. Ah, the delights of springtime training. We’ll call this week a victory.

Leave a Reply

