running out of time…

I’ve hit the point in training where I no longer have enough time. Even the longest day of the year, just a few days ago, there was not enough time to fit in my training and the things I needed to do. Let alone the things I wanted to do…

Runs are now just barely fitting into lunch with a fake clean-up afterward- just enough so that my co-workers don’t boot me out in the afternoons. The long runs have to fit in the evenings or weekends now, competing for time with the bike rides, which are now mostly in the 2-3:30 hour range and the primary occupier of the evening hours, say roughly from 5:30-8:45. I suppose one could make an argument for morning workouts. But let’s face it. If you’re telling me I could go workout in the morning, you probably don’t know me very well at all. Sleep is another important part of training. Don’t get me started on that.

You do the math. There’s not time for much else these days. You know, things like grocery shopping, let alone cooking (come to think of it, I’m not exactly sure what I’ve been subsisting off of lately. Suffice it to say, it’s probably too embarrassing to list here anyways). Hanging out with friends (unless they’re on a bike or running alongside!). Playing with the dogs. Getting an oil change. Cleaning the house? Fuhgettaboudit.

Ah. And this would explain the recent lack of blog updates as well. My bad.

Time, or rather, the lack of it is a common challenge with any training program. But I’ve found it to be especially noticeable over the past 2 or 3 weeks or so.

This feeling of not having enough time is accompanied by a, well, a  feeling of not having enough time – that is, there are just 6 weeks till race day. That sentence distinctly makes me feel like I’m running out of time, even more than trying to go grocery shopping AND cook dinner at 9 p.m. at night.

Tick tock, tick tock!

Leave a Reply

