sleep…

In the weeks leading up to the 70.3, I found I wasn’t sleeping particularly well. (This is unusual for me – I’m a very solid sleeper. It’s one of my strengths. Ha.) Could’ve been a number of things: Work, worrying about oversleeping or sleeping through my alarm or turning my alarm OFF and returning to sleep only to sleep through work or a board meeting. Could’ve been that nagging feeling that the race was creeping up on me and I didn’t feel ready. Could’ve been that we recently entered the 3-4 truly HOT weeks of the summer and I was just not comfortable. Could’ve been that I was worried – about the race, about my training, about a nagging injury, about gear, about the HEAT.

I always found this ironic and also quite unfortunate because training ALWAYS makes me SO tired. I sleep (or at least I want to sleep) a ton when I’m training for marathons or 70.3s… It takes a lot out of you. So what’s worse than wanting and needing to sleep but not? Nothing.

I never figured out what it was. But today marks 4 days since race day and I’m happy to report that, while I’m still tired and could use a nap over lunchtime, I have been sleeping quite nicely. Naturally, I slept like the dead the night after the race despite aches and pains I picked up over the course of 70 miles.

If I had to guess what it was, I’d say there was a part of me that was just too nervous to sleep. For me, there is always a certain level of anxiety that goes along with a big race,whether it be your first 5k or your first 70.3 or your first marathon. It’s just part of the deal. I have to remind myself to have a little faith in the training and in myself. To have a little faith that things will shake out just fine. To have a little faith that I’ve prepared myself for race conditions. To sleep because I NEED it and because it doesn’t do anyone any good to stay up at night worrying! And I have to remind myself that time’s up, I’ve done everything I can and its time to put it to the test. Race day. It’s all I can do to quiet my mind and get some rest. Because, after all, that is just as important to race day performance as training and nutrition.

Happy training and sweet dreams!

Leave a Reply

