welcome back, me!

Hello world, I’m back!

When I was last here, wayyyyy back last summer, I had just finished my 2nd 70.3 triathlon and had an October marathon staring me at the face and an Ironman off in the distance. Following the completion of that marathon, I took a much needed break. A full-on break for about two full weeks followed by four weeks of “still mostly break”, running maybe a handful of times, swimming some, but mostly sleeping and relaxing. Recuperating.

Mentally, I knew I needed it. Training takes a lot out of you. Well, it takes a lot of out me anyway. Physically, sure. But that’s not the hard part. The hard part is ALWAYS steering the ship toward the goal. Doesn’t matter how much you want to achieve your goal, there will always be days when you just don’t want to but you have to. It takes a lot of will power to choose to log sometimes lonely miles over beers with friends night after night, week after week, month after month. Your brain gets tired of making that decision. My will power needed a break if I was ever going to be able to pull off Ironman 2013.

So I rested. Just a few weeks ago, I started slowly logging in more time in the pool, more time on the road. Getting ready to start training again in earnest. And here we are. This coming Sunday OFFICIALLY marks the start of training for Ironman Coeur d’Alene. That’s right. This blog has been upgraded to 140.6 and me!

Twenty four weeks of swimming, biking and running toward the ultimate goal of completing 140.6 miles in under 17 hours on June 23. And not dying along the way. Over the next six months I’ll be posting my thoughts, fears, goals, dreams, and experiences – the good, the bad and the ugly – throughout my training right here for you to follow along.

Since I’ve been gone for a while, just a quick reminder / disclaimer: I’m not an expert in much of anything and certainly not a personal trainer, nutritionist, or professional athlete. I’m just a normal gal training for Ironman. The thoughts and recommendations I have here are solely my own … if you are thinking of joining us in crazy town, I highly recommend you talk to a professional. More specifically, a therapist first. Then head straight over to talk to a coach or someone who’s got a few races of this distance under their belt and hop on in, the water’s fine!

Leave a Reply

