warm enough for open water…!

SUNSHINE!!! Sunshine means good things for the lake and good things for race day. I know I’ve been complaining a lot about wind and cold lately. Heck, last week I was bringing in my flowers overnight because it was dipping below freezing and we were still wearing long sleeves to run and beanies under our bike helmets in the morning. Well, the weather gods finally decided to take pity on me and give me an entire week of sunshine and warmth for my sanity. Thank goodness.

Sunshine!

Honestly, jumping from 50 degree days to 80 degree days literally overnight made running outside a little hard since we had no time to acclimate (there is just no pleasing me, I know!).

But a week of sunshine and 80s means really good things for the lake so I’ll stop complaining. We’ll take it!

USGS Lake CdA water temp 05.11.2013

Which means it’s time for open water swims! Last Friday, May 10 was our first open water swim. And thanks to the 80s, we got to swim in 55 or 56 degrees instead of 50 or 52. And believe me. Five degrees makes ALL the difference in the world. I’ll be honest – I was really kind of dreading it but it was infinitely more tolerable than I thought it would be. And had I forgotten anything I needed for the swim – and I mean ANYTHING – I would’ve been ok with scratching the whole thing and waiting till later to jump in. But it wasn’t to be. We were in for about 30 minutes and I could still feel my feet when we got out. If that was the temperature on race day, that would be just fine.

Looks like its just about time to quit the pool swims and spend the last 6 weeks getting reacquainted with chilly waters, waves, other people, sighting into the sun, murky waters with bug-eyed fish staring up at you and swimming with others. Have you done your first open water swim of the year?

Leave a Reply

