good news/bad news…

Yesterday, I completed 112 miles on the bike. Yes. 112. And yes, it took me ALL day (as you may recall, I’m not the fastest biker). The good news is, I know I can do it. The bad news is, I know I have to do it again.

We did a short swim first, starting at 7. Which would have given me the chance to simulate my race day morning, only I hate mornings so instead I hit snooze a ton of times and finally got up at 6:20, ran around the house like a chicken with its head cut off and headed to the lake at 6:40.

The swim was shorter than planned (haha, good news!).  But it was shorter not because I was super fast, but because it was a heck of a lot colder than planned. At least we are getting slowly acclimated to it in the off chance it doesn’t warm up a whole lot in the next three weeks. Bad news – 55 degrees for an hour 15, hour 20 is a whole lot of cold as far as I’m concerned.

I learned a few things yesterday – first of all, don’t leave a third of your nutrition in the freezer when you leave the house (see above – snooze button). So, the good news is, I probably won’t do that again at least in the near future. The bad news is that I came up a tad short on the  nutrition end of things. The good news is I can finish the bike course on less nutrition than planned. The bad news is my marathon would pay for it.

Second lesson of the day? Even though it was pretty overcast for the most part and even though I’m pretty dark skinned and generally tan/rarely burn, I put on sunscreen after getting out of the lake and hopping on the bike. I learned I should definitely re-apply after the first loop. The bad news is, my back/shoulder blades area and my cheeks are rocking a nice little mild burn (which good news: will transform itself into a tan tomorrow and bad news: reinforce the whole triathlon=crazy silly tan lines).

We biked the Ironman course, which has 2,306 feet of climbing according to Ironman.

IMCDA bike elevation

My Garmin tells me I climbed 6,585 feet. So I’m not sure what that means other than: Bad news – lots of climbing, good news.

IMCDA bike elevation garmin 06.01.2013

 

Either way, I have NEVER been SO HAPPY to get off of a bike. Ever. Good news is, after my next 112 miles, I don’t have to ever ride that far again. Bad news? I have to run a marathon. But race day, if I feel how I felt yesterday, I would do anything – ANYTHING – including running a marathon, so long as you didn’t tell me I had to turn around and bike another 112 miles.

Leave a Reply

